Today Ubisoft announced that all post-launch DLC maps for Rainbow Six Siege will be free.

Following the recent trend, all Rainbow Six DLC maps will be free. Along with the announcement, Ubisoft also clarified how many maps will be available at launch, and teased that they have more post-launch plans that they reveal at a later date.

“At launch, Rainbow Six Siege will have 11 maps, playable both day or night, all using the full potential of our Real Blast destruction technology,” the publisher stated. “In addition, all post-launch maps will be downloadable for free. We want players to stay with us for the long term and have ambitious post-launch plans that we will detail at a later stage.”

Rainbow Six Siege is one of a few titles offering DLC maps for free. Asymmetrical shooter Evolve’s maps are free, and at least 15 free maps will be released for Halo 5. Developers have stated that this is being done to avoid dividing players into groups of those who have the maps and those who don’t.

Rainbow Six Siege will release on December 1st. The game will be available on PC, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One. The game was originally slated for an October release, but was delayed. The game’s beta begins on September 24th. Gamers can score a beta key here.

Send this to a friend