The Nintendo Switch release date of March 3rd is fast approaching, and the versatile looking console will be launching with some big name titles. But new owners now have something else to look forward to. The multiplayer shooter, Splatoon 2, will be running a global free demo weekend to help get players interested in the crazy cartoon-style combat.

Announced on the Nintendo website, the Splatoon 2 Global Testfire will be available to all Switch owners with internet access, from March 24th through to the 26th. The content for the Global Testfire will include four different main weapons including remixed versions of the Splat Roller and Splat Charger from the original Splatoon.

Players will be able to participate during six designated time slots:

  • March 24th-12-12:59 p.m. PT (3-3:59 p.m. ET) and  8-8:59 p.m. PT (11-11:59 p.m. ET)
  • March 25th-  4-4:59 a.m. PT (7-7:59 a.m. ET), 12-12:59 p.m. PT (3-3:59 p.m. ET), and 8-8:59 p.m. PT (11-11:59 p.m. ET)
  • March 26th- 4-4:59 a.m. PT (7-7:59 a.m. ET)

Alongside the announcement of the free demo weekend, Nintendo have also told us about other new features that will accompany Splatoon 2. The Nintendo Switch companion app for smartphones will release, allowing players to organize match meet-ups with friends, as well as other extra features such as voice chat. There will be the function of LAN play for up to ten people, (eight players plus two spectators) which will negate the need for internet access. There will be a mode known as “Private Battle Spectator View,” where during a match, two non-players will be able to watch all of the action as camera operators, and also the announcement that Splatoon 2 will be compatible with Splatoon Series Amiibo Figures.

Splatoon 2 is set to launch some time in the summer. Nintendo will be hoping for a good response from the free demo weekend, and that players get hooked on the cephalopod shooting action. For all the latest news on the Nintendo Switch, check back with Gamespresso.